PR Pubs

Today Cameras | Tomorrow B-Roll

This week in PR Pubs we get to finally familiarize ourselves with our recording equipment.

best-lenses-for-nikon-D7100.jpg
The Nikon D7100

So, I am extremely excited and even more happy I got to take a camera home to fiddle with it. I already want to go outside to film B-roll, but I haven’t decided what topic I want to cover. Plus, I gotta go back to the Gaylord “Video Cage” to get some other equipment to check out such as a tripod and a lapel microphone. Besides all of that, what really bothers me is that the camera does not come with an SD card! I mean come on? We spend upwards of 7 million on our football coaches at OU, yet students can’t get proper equipment paid for by their tuition? I hate to say this in a student blog but wtf? Anyways, let’s get back on topic.

I’ve had some filming experience beforehand because I used to run a prank youtube channel for a month or two. It is very cringy to watch and I DO NOT RECOMMEND looking any of the videos up. They are awkward.

When I did have the youtube channel up and running, I was missing necessary equipment such as a tripod to make my life easier. Also, a program to edit such as Adobe Premiere Pro would be a life savor. Alas, I was stuck with Windows Movie Maker.

windows-movie-maker-2012-05-700x372.png
This still gives me the creeps…

I am most fascinated by the aspect of using a tripod for the first time. I desire more than anything to shoot B-roll with it. I asked the teacher of our class, Adam Croom, to explain a video he composed for OU some time ago. He used a tripod to film the B-roll and I was curious as to how it worked. I am going to try to find a tool like that or do it with my own hands for stabilization. I want to understand how being a TRUE cameraman feels like.

 

 

Leave a comment